Elections Update For Amarillo Mayor, City Council, AISD Board, & AC Bond

The public has spoken. The mayor and current council members have overwhelmingly received a vote of confidence.

Mayor Ginger Nelson easily defeated Claudette Smith and Kip Billips.

In Place 1, Elaine Hays was given another two years, as well as Freda Powell in Place 2.

In Place 3, Dr. Eddie Sauer defeated Tom Warren and Brad Torch. In Place 4, Howard Smith was the people’s choice.

There will be three new members on the Amarillo Independent School District Board of Trustees. The top three vote-getters win the seat. Dick Ford had the most votes, followed by educator Kimberly Anderson, and newcomer Alonzo Everhart.

Robin R. Malone also returns for an unexpired term.

The Amarillo College Bond has passed.

We will have full details and interviews on Sunday.