West Texas A&M University will be honoring 27 loyal supporters during a special event.

Since 1998 The Old Main Society has recognized supporters whose lifetime total donations to the University and its foundations exceeded $50,000. 

There are currently 344 total members to the Old Main Society and this year 8 new members will be inducted into the Eternal Flame Society, consisting of donors who are making gifts to the University through their estate planning.

New Old Main Society members include:

  • Benefactor ($1 million to $4,999,999): the Huber Family Trust, the estate of Dr. Jenny Lind Porter Scott; 
  • Ambassador ($250,000 to $499,999): the Bobbe Rule Murphy Trust 
  • Sustainer ($100,000 to $249,999): Canyon Legends, CHS Foundation, the Gloria K. Coon Charitable Trust, the Ernest Eugene Moses Estate, First Financial Bank, Karen Williams Rubenstein, the Shapiro Family Trust, and Richard and Mary West Traylor; and 
  • Supporter ($50,000 to $99,999): the Amarillo Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Avalon Sunset Farms, the Emma Barnsley Foundation, Sharon and Jim Brown, the Bruckner Family Foundation, Martha Couch, Dairy Innovations, Barry Evans, Brian Garner, Maryann and Harry Hueston, Edward Jones, Evelyn and Charles Lyles, Mary and Paul Lyons, Joyce and Michael McBroom, the Wayne and JoAnn Moore Charitable Foundation, Plug Piehl, Peggy and Jim Pollard, Buffie and Jerry Schaeffer, Anonymous, Joan and John “Jack” M. Shelton III, the Texas A&M University Foundation, and Lila and Cap Wall. 

Rising Old Main Society members include: 

  • Benefactor: High Plains Christian Ministries Foundation, and Pat and Val White; 
  • Patron ($500,000 to $999,999): Bob and Nancy Josserand, Travis McBride, and Toot’n Totum; 
  • Ambassador: Education Credit Union, Pak-A-Sak, Panhandle-Plains Historical Society, the David D. and Nona S. Payne Foundation; and Sherry and David Schaeffer; and 
  • Sustainer: Budweiser Distributing Co., Citizens Bank, the Charles Koch Foundation, Greta and Stan Liles, Michael J. and Helen Miller, Arlie and Barbara Petty, W.C. and Nancy Russell, the United Methodist Church Willson Lectureship, the Weatherly Charitable Lead Trust, and Anonymous.

Newly inducted Eternal Flame Society members include Danita and Gregg Bynum, Dr. Andy Cole, Susan Coleman, Barry Duman, the late Hank Gerdsen, Phyllis Gerdsen, Lanna and Bob Hatton, and Rosemary Gerdsen Prichard.

WT will publicly launch a historic comprehensive campaign in an invitation-only event set for September 23rd, followed by a public announcement September 25th.

More about: