Weather Alert

The Seven Days Of Kwanzaa


The African American holiday of Kwanzaa is celebrated from December 26 to January 1st. The holiday was started in 1966 by California Professor Ron Karenga.

The seven days of Kwanzaa are Day 1-Umoja meaning unity.

Day 2-Kujichagulia or self-determination

Day 3- Ujima or collective work and responsibility

Day 4- Ujamaa, collective economics

Day 5-Nia meaning purpose

Day 6-Kuumba meaning creativity and Imani meaning faith

The celebration of Kwanzaa has a Swahili background

Connect With Us Listen To Us On