AAA Texas will be hosting the first ever Virtual Child Passenger Safety Seat Workshop.
It is the law in Texas that children younger than 8 years old, unless they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches, must be properly restrained in a child safety seat or a booster seat when riding in a motor vehicle.
The virtual event will take place Saturday June 19th and is free to the public.
Failure to do so can result in fines of up to $250, plus court costs according to the Texas Department of Transportation.
Beyond state law requirements, AAA will share additional recommendations from experts aimed at keeping children even more safe while riding in car seats.
Attendees will also learn the basic elements of seat selection and installation, the differences among the different types of child seats and the most common installation mistakes made by parents/caregivers.