2018 Panhandle Sports Hall Of Fame

The 2018 Panhandle Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held Sunday, February 10th, at 2:00 p.m. at the Amarillo Civic Center Grand Plaza.

There will be a press conference and member’s reception on Saturday, February 9th at 3:00 p.m. located in the Bivins Room at the Kids Inc. building, located at 2201 East 27th Avenue.

The Members Reception welcomes new Inductees, and allows past Inductees to renew friendships, tell stories, and enjoy good company.

This year’s Hall of Fame Inductees include:

Del Ray Mounts – played basketball at Perryton and was a star at Texas Tech from 1959 to 1962.

– Ona Lee Johnson – won state in tennis at Phillips in 1960 and became active in promoting tennis here, in Amarillo.

– Bobby Dibler – played basketball at Amarillo High, Amarillo College and Texas Western (now UTEP) in the early 1960s before a successful career as a college basketball official.

– Lance Lahnert – sportswriter and sports editor at the Amarillo Globe-News for 36 years.

– Jon Mark Beilue – sportswriter, sports editor and general columnist at the Globe-News for 37 years.